The Executive Committee of the Lagos State Sports Writers Association (Lagos SWAN) has suspended three members for bringing the association’s name to disrepute.

The suspended members are; Mr Ayo Ojedokun, Mr. Ifeanyi Eduzor and Mr. Francis Ajumona.

The suspension is in line with the findings of the disciplinary committee report on Anti Association’ Activities leveled against the trio by the Congress of Lagos SWAN at its last meeting.

According to allegations against the trio who tagged themselves as “Concerned Members of Lagos SWAN”, they have continuously painted Lagos SWAN as a disunited body and brought the office of its Chairman to disrepute.

The committee headed by seasoned sports journalist, Mr. Femi Solaja was set up by Lagos SWAN Congress on Friday 31st August, 2018 to investigate the allegations and make recommendations.

After review of available evidence and  of the accused persons, the trio were found guilty of Anti Association activities.

The committee recommended that they should tender a public apology to the office of the Chairman, Lagos SWAN for defamation of character.

They were also mandated to apologize to the Lagos SWAN Body (Congress) for dragging internal matters to the public domain without recourse to the elders of the Association especially former Chairmen of the chapters like Comrades Tony Ubani, Niyi Oyeleke and Fred Edoreh.

The committee said failure to comply with their recommendations will be taken as a direct assault on the Congress which is the highest law making body of the chapter.

In view of their failure to comply, the Lagos SWAN exco deemed it expedient to suspend them indefinitely to serve as a deterrent to others.